Tuesday, September 25, 2012

Join the PTA

While Spring Branch ISD students have jumped into another school year, volunteers with campus PTAs and SBISD Council of PTAs have been hard at work preparing for the months to come. PTA members are planning fund-raisers, creating newsletters and completing a number of other tasks to insure a successful year. Being a member of the PTA is all about getting involved in your child’s education. PTA brings together our community to improve SBISD schools and provide the best for our students. Joining the PTA allows you to work together with other parents and help build an important bond with teachers while improving the future for all children.

To join PTA, contact the campus PTA president or your child’s school office for more information. At the district level, the SBISD Council of PTAs first meeting of the year will be held at 11:30 a.m. on Wednesday, Sept.5, in the SBISD Administration Building’s Board of Trustees Meeting Room, 955 Campbell Road. For more information, visit the PTA section of this site. Looking ahead, the 83rd Legislative Session of the Texas Legislature will begin in January 2013.

The Board’s Legislative Priorities are posted on the district website. To learn more about the Legislative session and parent-related issues, please visit the local Spring Branch Speaks group at www.springbranchspeaks.com.

Spring Branch ISD Council of PTAs 2012-2013
Officers and Chairs

Executive Board President-Susan Griffin, 713-412-9691 or griffinfamilytx@comcast.net 1st VP Programs-intern-Michelle Airola, gmairola@comcast.net 2nd VP Programs Leadership-Camille Tarics, camilletarics@gmail.com 3rd VP Membership-Caroline Bennett, carolinebennet@hotmail.com Secretary-Laura Casanover, lauracasanover@hotmail.com Treasurer-Bonnie Tresch, treschtexas@att.net Historian-Lisa Lundquist, lisamwlundquist@gmail.com Parliamentarian-Misty Ellis, misty.ellis@hotmail.com Committee Chairs Arts in Education and Reflections-Rebecca Ziegenhorn, rziegenhoorn@gmail.com Awards-Carrie Goolsby, carriegoolsby@comcast.net Communication-Newsletter-Jenny Rice, jennyrice@sbcglobal.net Communication-Directory-Kim Wood, kimwood714@yahoo.com Communication-Website- Pamela Kersey, pskersey@att.net Creativity and Odyssey of the Mind Director-Iris Story, omers5@aol.com Diversity Committee Lydia Junek, ljunek@piqe.org Dmel Tatum, dmeltatum@yahoo.com Founder’s Day Veronica Herrmann, vweronica.herrmann@gmail.com Melissa DeAyala, melissadeayala@att.net Legislative Chair-Karen Peck, kbpeck@att.net Mentoring Committee Scott LeMaire, txvoltar@sbcglobal.net David Davenport, Hodad1969@aol.com Kay Kursky, kkurskiy@sbcglobal.net SBEF Liaison-Laura Tingleaf, tingleaf4@att.net Scholarship Awards Chair- Warren Matthews, warren.matthews@wellsfargo.com School Board Liaison-Wayne F. Schaper, Sr., schaperwr@sbcglobal.net Sister School Solutions Director-Becky Funderburk, be-fun@att.net SBISD Communications Dept. Intern Kali Venable compiled this Back to School report.


Post a Comment

Do you have feedback? Tell us.