Monday, March 4, 2013

2013 Campus Teachers of the Year

Spring Branch ISD campuses have named more than 40 elementary and secondary instructors as nominees for the 2013 campus Teacher of the Year title.

The district’s Teacher of the Year Committee will review nomination materials and soon choose three elementary and three secondary finalists for annual Teacher of the Year honors.

After each finalist group is interviewed, the committee will vote on its top two candidates.

Superintendent of Schools Duncan F. Klussmann, Ed.D., will announce district finalists and the Elementary and Secondary Teacher of the Year at this year’s Service Awards dinner, which will be held May 8 at the Omni Houston Hotel Westside. SBISD Teachers of the Year will represent the district in regional competition.

If successful, the Teachers of the Year will compete for the state’s highest honor – Texas Teacher of the Year. As district winners, these two teachers will receive a trophy-style Golden Apple Award and stipend awards. During the past 30 years, SBISD has had four teachers named regional and state winners.

This year’s SBISD Teacher of the Year nominees are:

Elementary Schools
Bendwood Campus, Delyar Pace
Buffalo Creek Elementary, Sandra Ramirez
Bunker Hill Elementary, Amy Sidora
Cedar Brook Elementary, Pam Walker
Edgewood Elementary, Eduardo de la Paz
Frostwood Elementary, Jean Posey
Hollibrook Elementary, Headiyeh Matthews
Housman Elementary, Diane Knapp
Hunters Creek Elementary, Patty Hurtado
Meadow Wood Elementary, Ashley Johnson
Memorial Drive Elementary, Talya Robertson
Nottingham Elementary, Michelle Murphy
Pine Shadows Elementary, Jamie Rusch
Ridgecrest Elementary, Nancy M. Delgado
Rummel Creek Elementary,Theresa Schwab-Trevino
Shadow Oaks Elementary, Sue Rudolph
Sherwood Elementary, Jill Sherrill
Spring Branch Elementary, Teresa Batres
Spring Shadows Elementary, Lori Dooley Cabrera
Terrace Elementary, Vicki Wolfram
The Bear Blvd. School, Linda Suchoff
The Lion Lane School, Noe Robles-Castaneda
The Tiger Trail School, Reyna Romay
The Wildcat Way School, Joanne B. Collier
Thornwood Elementary, Cecelia A. Peterson
Treasure Forest Elementary, Mirith Ballestas de Barroso
Valley Oaks Elementary, Rebecca Kim
Westwood Elementary, Eugenia Olson
Wilchester Elementary, Jennifer Franson
Woodview Elementary, Rob Allen

Secondary Schools
Academy of Choice, Kimberly De Gidio
Cornerstone Academy, Ashley England
Landrum Middle, Amarilys William
Memorial High, Danielle Prontka
Memorial Middle, Jennifer Lennox
Northbrook High, Kirk Eckstein
Northbrook Middle, Cassie Seelbach
Spring Branch Middle, Helen Roberts
Spring Forest Middle, Sharon Sharadin
Spring Oaks Middle, April Tavilson
Spring Woods High, Victoria Beard
Spring Woods Middle, Kezia Carvajal
Stratford High, Tracey Jensen
The Guthrie Center, Tina Miller
Westchester Academy, Maureen Fertitta-Andrews



  1. Wilchester loves Jennifer Franson!! Woohoo!

  2. Noe Robles-Castaneda is the best!!!!!!

  3. Michelle Murphy at Nottingham is fabulous!

  4. WOW!!! Mr. Noe Robles-Castaneda the best BILINGUAL TEACHER you will ever meet! Go for it, Mr. Robles!!!

  5. Mr.Robles-Castaneda at Lion Lane is an excellent teacher. Whenever you
    come into his classroon, you can tell how much students learn while having fun. He's amazing!!!

  6. Helen Roberts at SBMS is one of the best people you'll ever meet!

  7. YAY! Mr. Robles-Castaneda at Lion Lane School is AMAZING! He's a very loved teacher! Thanks Mr. Robles for putting a great foundation in our children and helping them become great citizens! :)


Do you have feedback? Tell us.