Wednesday, June 4, 2014

Board Officers elected during May 20 Special Meeting

Three Trustees were elected unanimously as new Board officers in Spring Branch ISD for the year ahead during a Special Meeting on May 20 of the Board of Trustees.

Elected unanimously as the new Board President was Trustee Chris Vierra, Position 4. Trustee Wayne Schaper, Sr., Position 1, will serve as the Board Vice President, and Katherine Dawson, Position 3, was elected the Board of Trustees Secretary. All new officers were elected in unanimous votes.

In separate action during the Special Meeting, Trustees Wayne Schaper, Sr. and Chris Gonzalez were both sworn in and took the official oaths of office for their new, three-year Board terms for Positions 1 and 2, respectively.

Neither SBISD Trustee was opposed for re-election earlier this year.

Trustee Pam Goodson, first elected in 2010, served as the Board President for the past two years. She was praised publicly by SBISD Superintendent Duncan F. Klussmann, Ed.D., for her leadership during a transition period where several new Trustees joined the Board.

“Pam has been a strong leader since she became a Board Member. You’ve made our roles as staff members so very easy because of your leadership,” Superintendent Klussmann said. He welcomed new Trustee officers into their new leadership roles, too.

As a remembrance for time in office, outgoing Trustee President Goodson received a gift plaque mounted with a gavel like the one she used as Board President.

The seven members of the SBISD Board of Trustees are elected at-large to serve overlapping, three-year terms. All district Trustees serve without pay.


Post a Comment

Do you have feedback? Tell us.