Friday, September 26, 2014

J. Landon Short Mini-Grants awarded to 48 teachers

Thirty-two separate projects representing 48 teachers were awarded stipends of up to $500 for individual teachers and up to $750 for teaching teams during the 15th annual J. Landon Short Mini-Grants for Educators presentation held on Sept. 22 during the SBISD Board of Trustees regular monthly meeting.

The Mini-Grants competition is named for a lifelong education advocate and backer, J. Landon Short. Mr. Short, who is deceased, was a founding member of the SBISD Partners in Education Advisory Board.

About $16,750 was awarded this year to teachers through generous gifts from the Spring Branch Education Foundation, Nexen and First Community Credit Union, as well as through a permanent endowment of The Robert and Janice McNair Foundation.

Mini-Grant sponsor representatives who attended the Board meeting and were honored included Alex Hinn, a petroleum engineer with Nexen; Melinda Storrs, who is vice president of business development at First Community Credit Union; and Cece Thompson, executive director with the Spring Branch Education Foundation.

This annual grants competition is coordinated through the Community Relations Department.

A pre-meeting reception was held for all teachers who won grants this year.

Click here to see a complete listing of winners and their winning proposals.


Post a Comment

Do you have feedback? Tell us.