Tuesday, February 23, 2016

Character Without Question Students Represent Best in Spring Branch ISD

The February Board of Trustees meeting is traditionally a very special meeting, not so much for what is discussed and acted on by trustees but for who is recognized.

Walking across the auditorium stage at Northbrook High School were the 48 (this year) campus awardees of Character Without Question, a unique and special award given by Spring Branch ISD.

Nominated by their teachers and fellow students, Character Without Question awardees are “responsible cititizens who show respect, caring and kindness to everyone and are always ready to ‘do the right thing’ in all situations,” said Superintendent Dr. Scott Muri.

Students are chosen based on their commitment to these character traits: honesty and integrity; responsibility and dependability; respect; perseverance and effort; courage; caring and kindness; and citizenship and civic virtue.

One student is selected from each of Spring Branch ISD’s 47 campuses – except for this year when, for the first time, two were chosen from a single campus. Why? Campus administrators from Cornerstone Academy just couldn’t choose between eighth-graders – and twins – Leila Madanizadeh and Niloofar Madanizadeh, so both were awarded.

Parents, siblings, teachers and other well-wishers filled the Northbrook High auditorium, applauding as each of the Character Without Question awardees was announced and walked across a stage decorated with props declaring that each was the “Best of the Best and being congratulated by Muri and trustees.

Each was given a signed copy of the book Jervis the Best, written, illustrated, designed and engineered by Jennifer DeWhitt and that relates advice bestowed by her grandmother while DeWhitt was growing up.

But the recognition that comes from always doing the right thing is a reminder that others notice.

“Let (the award) be a reminder that you are admired by the staff and Board of Trustees of Spring Branch Independent School District,” said Muri.

Character Without Question is sponsored by the Spring Branch Education Foundation (SBEF) and district partner Wells Fargo, represented at the program by Southwest Regional Senior Vice President Warren Matthews. Matthews also serves on the SBEF Executive Committee and is a former chair.

2016 Character Without Question Award Recipients

(with grade level)

Schools for Early Learning
Bear Blvd. - Leah Rivas, PK
Lion Lane - Mariah Rodriguez, PK
Panda Path - Khloe Mira, PK
Tiger Trail - Jeaneth Tax-Elias, PK
Wildcat Way - Anna Oliver, PK

Elementary Campuses
Buffalo Creek - Elizabeth Medellin, 5
Bunker Hill - Madie Barrow, 5
Cedar Brook - Hudson Perroni, 5
Edgewood - Sophia Erazo, 5
Frostwood - Abigail Tomask,i 5
Hollibrook - Natalia Araniva, 5
Housman - Alondra Guerra, 5
Hunters Creek - Riley Ramsey, 5
Meadow Wood - Jonathan Barnes, 4
Memorial Drive - Beth Martinez, 5
Nottingham - Isabella Torres, 5
Pine Shadows - Juana Garcia Torres, 5
Ridgecrest - Miranda Salazar, 3
Rummel Creek - Paxton Terveen, 5
School For Highly Gifted Students - William Youngblood, 5
Shadow Oaks - Cameron Smith, 5
Sherwood - Kristen Green, 5
Spring Branch - Valarie Fernandez, 5
Spring Shadows - Allison Galan, 5
Terrace - Omar Loredo, 5
Thornwood - Katherine Kim, 5
Treasure Forest - Angie Romero, 4
Valley Oaks - Julia Williams, 5
Westwood - Daniel Castillo Maldonado, 4
Wilchester - Ella Crabtree, 5
Woodview - Karla Gordillo Andrade, 5

Middle School Campuses
Cornerstone - Leila Madanizadeh, 8
Cornerstone - Niloofar Madanizadeh, 8
Landrum - Jose Gamez, 7
Memorial - Jonah Lou, 8
Northbrook - Flavia Tepozotlan, 8
Spring Branch - Jeffrey Carr, 8
Spring Forest - Belen Bauer, 8
Spring Oaks - Lauren Kmiecik, 8
Spring Woods - Anamika Alam, 8
WAIS - Lisa Calderon, 7

High School Campuses
Academy of Choice - Cesar Granados, 11
Guthrie Center - Alexandra Rangel, 12
Memorial - Jack Tucker, 11
Northbrook - Milton Rico, 12
Spring Woods - Jennifer Hernandez-Rivas, 12
Stratford - Myles Marburger, 12
WAIS - Daniel Villagomez, 12


Post a Comment

Do you have feedback? Tell us.