Thursday, January 31, 2013

TSNAP Educator of the Year

Dr. Keith Haffey, district executive director for accountability and research, was honored at Monday’s Board of Trustees meeting after being named 2012 Educator of the Year by the Texas Statewide Network of Assessment Professionals (TSNAP).

A prestigious professional honor, the TSNAP Educator of the Year Award was first issued by the state accountability and assessment group in 2006 to Dr. John Folks of San Antonio, who is now retired as Northside ISD Superintendent of Schools. TSNAP hasn’t awarded its Educator of the Year honor each year.

Dr. Haffey has served in his current SBISD position as executive director for about a decade. He was a principal at Cedar Brook Elementary School, and he began district service as a math teacher at Spring Woods High.

With TSNAP, Dr. Haffey is an active member of the Brazos River Area Testing Specialists and served on the Region 4 District Testing Coordinator Advisory Committee and the Texas Education Agency’s ATAC Committee. He has presented a pre-conference session at the Texas Assessment Conference for eight years, and he is recognized widely for the leadership and support that he provides to new and veteran members, both regionally and across the state.

TSNAP’s goals include the following:

  • Share information about testing in educational settings
  • Encourage the appropriate use of testing in educational settings
  • Improve the applications of measurement to students and educational programs
  • Encourage research in the area of elementary and secondary school testing and measurement
  • Develop communication networks to assist with implementation, improvement and maintenance of statewide testing programs 
TSNAP membership includes state, regional, district and charter educators, representatives from higher education institutions and supporting companies in the business sector.


Post a Comment

Do you have feedback? Tell us.