Friday, April 12, 2013

Teacher of the Year Finalists Announced

Six educators were recently named as Spring Branch ISD Teacher of the Year finalists.

One finalist will be named Elementary Teacher of the Year; the other will be the new Secondary Teacher of the Year.

Winners will be announced soon at the annual Employee Service Awards celebration. The Service Awards reception and dinner will be held Wednesday, May 8, at the Omni Houston Hotel-Westside, 13210 Katy Freeway.

This annual event is held to recognize employees and retirees, announce the SBISD Teachers of the Year, and celebrate the recently named, new Principals of the Year.

This year’s Teacher of the Year finalists at the elementary level are Rebecca Kim of Valley Oaks Elementary, a second-grade instructor; Sandra Ramirez of Buffalo Creek Elementary, a fourth-grade bilingual teacher; and Theresa Schwab-Trevino, who is also a second-grade teacher.

Finalists at the secondary level are high school teachers Vicky Beard of Spring Woods High, a speech-debate instructor and coach; Tracey Jensen of Stratford High, a physics teacher; and Danielle Prontka of Memorial High, co-director of the school’s orchestra.

Recently named as this year’s Principals of the Year are Karen Liska of Spring Woods Middle School and Trish Thomas of Ridgecrest Elementary School.

The Teacher of the Year Committee has interviewed and will vote on the six finalist candidates, Superintendent of Schools Duncan F. Klussmann, Ed.D., will announce the committee’s choices at the Service Awards Celebration.


Post a Comment

Do you have feedback? Tell us.