Thursday, May 23, 2013

Spring Branch Education Foundation Awards Night

More than 70 graduating seniors were honored with scholarship awards during the annual Spring Branch Education Fund (SBEF) Awards Night, which was held May 9 at the Westin Memorial City Hotel. Student scholarship awards totaled more than $78,000.

In all, 71 scholarships were awarded. They include 30 student scholarships sponsored either by the SBEF or individuals, organizations or companies.

In addition, 41 seniors got SBEF Employee Campaign scholarships of $1,250 each as graduates who are sons and daughters of Spring Branch ISD employees. By comparison a decade ago, SBEF awarded nine scholarships.

The honorees were chosen by SBEF’s Scholarship Selection Committee. Student applicants were asked for a description of their school activities and top accomplishments, a recommendation letter from a teacher or counselor, and a short essay outlining their education goals.

SBEF Scholarship Awards Chair Warren Matthews presented the student honorees after a dinner at the hotel. The recent Award Night drew several hundred people to the Westin at Memorial City.

To read more about the scholarships and SBISD students recognized at the SBEF Awards Night, click on the links provided below:

Don Coleman Scholarship ($1,000)
Parker Lund – Stratford High
Imani Webster – Spring Woods High

Monica Neubauer Scholarship ($1,000)
Timothy Davis – Memorial High School
Kaitline Wesneski – Memorial High School

Spring Branch Lions Club Scholarship ($1,000)
Marlene Alfaro – Spring Woods High
Alan Caballero – Westchester Academy for International Studies *
Cinthia Garcia – Northbrook High *
Jennifer Hoang – Westchester Academy for International Studies
Joshua Lee – Stratford High
Aditya Srinivasan – Memorial High *

Houston Westchase Rotary Scholarship ($1,000)
Sandy Aguilar – Spring Woods High
Rena Dang – Spring Woods High
Destiny Lewis – Westchester Academy for International Studies

Shantamboo Charity Scholarship ($1,000)
Fernando Trujano – Stratford High

Spring Branch Education Foundation Scholarship ($1,000)
Jack William Rodgers – Spring Woods High
Kaijia Tian – Memorial High

Roy Brown Scholarship ($1,000)
Taishiro Okazaki Rachel –Memorial High

Pendray Scholarship ($1,000)
Cecilia Lopez – Spring Woods High
Chinh Pham – Spring Woods High
Brittany Toy – Spring Woods High

Prosperity Bank Scholarship ($1,000)
Kelly Griffin  – Stratford High

Cuellar Scholarship ($1,000)
Graham Baker – Stratford High

Nabors Industries ($500)
Wendy Castillo – Spring Woods High
Taylor Lancaster – Spring Woods High *
Kathryn Romero – Spring Woods High
Brittany Trevino – Spring Woods High *
Itzel Vasquez Gonzalez – Spring Woods High
Melody Rightmire – Spring Woods High *
Kevin Malone – Spring Woods High *
Jennifer Guitterrez – Spring Woods High *
Bertha Gonzales – Spring Woods High *
Jill Gregory – Spring Woods High *

Diane Jackson Scholarship ($1,000)
Joo Baek – Memorial High
Juliana Baik – Memorial High
Ryan Baumgartner – Memorial High

* No photo available at time of publication.


Post a Comment

Do you have feedback? Tell us.