Wednesday, June 1, 2016

Six students named Texas Music Scholars

Six students from two Spring Branch ISD high schools have won recognition as Texas Music Scholars, one of the highest possible state fine arts honors.

The Texas Music Educators Association (TMEA), which sponsors the Texas All-State Bands, Orchestras and Choirs, awards this student recognition. Only 2,300 students earned Texas Music Scholars honors last year. SBISD students include:

Memorial High School

  • Kristine Chin, 10th Grade, violin
  • Joie Jamison, 9th Grade, violin
  • Serena Kim, 9th Grade, violin
Stratford High School

  • John Eyre, 12th grade, cornet/trumpet
  • Sydney Simmons, 10th Grade, cornet/trumpet
  • Valeria Robayo, 9th Grade, clarinet
These students are honored for a variety of outstanding qualities including high scholastic achievement (overall A grade average), musicianship (All-Region or All-State and 1st Division UIL solo), and school and community citizenship.

In addition, one Stratford High student was recognized for his selection to the TMEA 5A All-State Band, which performed at the group’s annual convention. Zachary Barnett, a cornet and trumpet player, won this honor through audition. Recognition at this level ranks Zachary in the top 1 percent of all Texas music students.

Stratford High band directors are Richard Graham and Robert Littlefield. The school’s orchestra directors are Michael Fahey and Peter Jagdeo.

Lead director of the Memorial High School Orchestra program is Bingiee Shiu and orchestra conductor is Danielle Prontka.

The Austin-based TMEA represents 12,000 music teachers and has a group goal of supporting music education, providing professional growth opportunities for music educators, fostering public support for music in the schools, and offering high level musical experiences to students.


Post a Comment

Do you have feedback? Tell us.