Thursday, November 29, 2012

Success for Stratford Journalism

Photo provided by Stratford student: Gilberto Sanchez

The Journalism Education Association (JEA) and National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) held their Semi-annual Fall National High School Journalism Convention on Nov.15-18 in San Antonio. Thousands of high school newspaper and yearbook students attended the convention with their advisers, including 16 students from Stratford High School.

Accompanied by their advisers Janice Cummons and Suzan Kim Lynch, Stratford attendees had the opportunity to attend various seminars taught by high school journalism teachers, professors and professionals in the industry. The convention was held at the well-known Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center in downtown San Antonio. All of the seminars revolved around various types of media, including newspaper, design, online, broadcasting, yearbook and magazine.

On Friday afternoon, Nov. 16, students who chose to sign up for JEA/NSPA write-off contests competed against other students from across the country. There were 48 write-off categories to choose from; all categories fell into the general grouping of literary composition, photography, design or film. Assigned judges critiqued the entries and an award ceremony was held on Sunday, Nov. 18, in the Convention Center.

More than 1,700 students competed in the write-off competitions held at the convention; out of the 16 students from Stratford who competed, six won national awards in their individual contests.

Stratford journalism students also attended a San Antonio Spurs Basketball game on Saturday night and had the chance to interview and talk with the Spurs media team. The media team discussed how they became a part of sports public relations and what it is like to work in the communications industry. Following the media interview, students watched the Spurs and the Denver Nuggets basketball game at 7:30 p.m.

Newspaper Winners-

Hannah Beavers, 12- Awarded Excellent Rating in News Writing

Sara Boyle, 12 - Awarded Honorable Mention Rating in News Editing and Headline Writing

Isabel Deakins, 12 -Awarded Honorable Mention Rating in Editorial Cartooning

Caitlin Hilton, 12- Awarded Excellent Rating in Commentary Writing

Kali Venable, 11- Awarded Honorable Mention Rating in Review Writing

Yearbook Winner-

Sara Deaton, 11- Awarded Superior Rating in Yearbook Copy/Caption: Sports

Other Stratford attendees include- Andres Acostas, Anila Ademi, Lianna Gregorian, Jackie John, Will Klussman, Thomas Leyden, Haley Mandy, Gil Sanchez, Andrea Sklar, and Christy Zhang

This story was compiled and written by Communications Dept. Intern Kali Venable


Post a Comment

Do you have feedback? Tell us.