Thursday, December 6, 2012

SBEF Names Committee for 2013 Crystal Awards Gala

Photo: pictured, left to right: (seated) Cece Thompson, Mary Grace Landrum, Melissa DeAyala; (standing) Marissa Klussmann, Claudia Selzer, Debbie Slack, Patty Busmire, Missy Balleza, Hayley Stewart, Becky Robertson, Laura Tingleaf and Debra Aitken.

Mary Grace and Michael Landrum, chairs of the 20th annual Crystal Awards Gala, have named a committee to help plan and execute the event.

The Gala is slated for Friday, Feb. 8, 2013, at the Hyatt Regency Downtown, 1200 Louisiana St. “An Evening of Celebrating Teachers with High Hopes for Generations” will recognize four outstanding educators selected from the Greater Houston area, 46 Spring Branch Independent School District Teachers of the Year and two SBISD Principals of the Year. “The Crystal Awards is an outstanding way for the community to honor the teachers who do so much for our children,” said Mary Grace Landrum.

“The incredible committee chairs and their members make this a truly spectacular evening for teachers from the Greater Houston area and Spring Branch ISD. In this 20th year of the event we want to recognize that teachers have had high hopes for our children for generations and will for generations to come.”

The Landrum have named a committee of parents and community leaders to plan each part of the evening:
  • Debra Aitken, Publicity chair
  • Missy Balleza, Decorations and Style Show co-chair
  • Patty Busmire, SBEF Special Events chair
  • Melissa DeAyala, Decorations and Style Show co-chair
  • Marissa Klussmann, Teacher Appreciation chair
  • Donna Montalbano, Underwriting chair
  • Becky Robertson, Auction co-chair
  • Claudia Selzer, Reservations chair
  • Debbie Slack, Raffle chair
  • Hayley Stewart, Auction co-chair
  • Laura Tingleaf, Clean-up chair
  • Cece Thompson, SBEF Executive Director
Committee members are:
  • Charla Allen
  • Kristen Arnett
  • Jennie Baker
  • Laura Cannaday
  • Diana Chenoweth
  • Katherine Dawson
  • Aimee Dodson
  • Suzy Godwin
  • Pam Goodson
  • Veronica Herrmann
  • Marty Herzog
  • Janet Horton
  • Robin Jensen
  • Lesley Krivan
  • Kay Kurisky
  • Renee Lange
  • Karen Lee
  • Susan Marks
  • Melissa Matthews
  • Elizabeth More
  • Wendy Moreland
  • Julie Moreton
  • Robin Nunley
  • Pam Overly
  • Dede Phillips
  • Suzanne Pittmann
  • Melinda Prewett
  • Michelle Putnik
  • Linda Ramos
  • Mary Ranger
  • Michelle Riddle
  • Tracey Rogan
  • Amanda Rutt
  • Lorrie Sanwald
  • Ruby Schaper
  • Lisa Schwartz
  • Julie Sheets
  • Inga Smith
  • Anne-Laure Stephens
  • Julie Stratton
  • Kim Trimble
  • Michele Tura
  • Gigi White and Kathy Wiggins
Tickets begin at $150; tables, sponsorships and underwriting opportunities are available. Call 713-251-2381 for tickets or information.

Proceeds from the Crystal Awards Gala benefit educational and enrichment programs in the Spring Branch ISD and the Chronicle’s Readers Are Leaders program.  Click here to visit the SBEF website for more infomation. 


  1. Thanks for sharing, never knew it took so many people on those committees.


Do you have feedback? Tell us.