Monday, March 21, 2016

SBISD Purchasing Department Earns State Award for Fifth Consecutive Year

For a fifth consecutive year, Spring Branch ISD’s Purchasing Department has been honored for best practices in school district purchasing. The TASBO Award of Merit for Purchasing and Operations with Recognized Status was awarded to SBISD department recently during the annual conference of the state association.

TASBO is the acronym for the Texas Association of School Business Officials. SBISD Director of Purchasing and Contracts is Barbara Robillard.

The TASBO Award of Merit for Purchasing Operations honors Texas public school districts that are committed to following professional standards in the acquisition of goods and services. All districts earning this award are considered to be among the top innovators in their field.

“Learning that the SBISD Purchasing Department team has been awarded this recognition for a fifth time is incredible news, and it is only possible with the truly amazing work of all involved,” Director Robillard said. “The award represents an ongoing professional goal for myself and our team in Purchasing Services. To earn this award for a fifth time for team excellence in Purchasing and Central Warehouse Services is phenomenal!”

To be considered for an Award of Merit, TASBO reviews a variety of procedures and practices. These include organization, policies and procedures, contract operations, staff training and certification, p-card systems (if applicable), warehousing, use of technology, communication and management of cooperative programs. Each school district application was reviewed by two independent reviewers, or judges.

“Our team is dedicated to providing quality goods and services to the district on a daily basis. Team employees embody a tireless work ethic and a passion for their craft and in supporting the district’s T-2-4 and Service First goals,” Director Robillard also said.

To learn more, visit the SBISD Purchasing Department website at

Meet the Purchasing Department Team

Barbara Robillard, Director of Purchasing and Contracts
Elvanna Galbreth, Administrative Assistant to the Director of Purchasing
Wayne Schaper, Jr., Manager of Central Warehouse, Textbooks, Logistics and Auctions
Edna Johnson, Manager of Purchasing Operations and Records
Gerald McCall, Construction & Technology
Jenny Davis, Administrative Bid Specialist
Cristina Varisco, Buyer II
Tameisha Davenport, Buyer I
Candy Garrison, Central Warehouse and Textbook Buyer
Nina Shephard, Contract Specialist
Jessica Escobar Galvez, MUNIS Support and Records Management
Kenneth Shorts, Warehouse Team Leader
Daniel Rivera, Warehouse Materials Handler/Driver
Carl Ann Pervis, Shipping Specialist/Driver - Shipping Questions
William Ervin, Receiving Specialist/Driver - Receiving Questions
Rolando Hernandez, Warehouse Materials Handler/Textbooks/Driver
Lorenzo Bee, Mailroom Specialist


Post a Comment

Do you have feedback? Tell us.