Monday, February 25, 2013

2013 Celebration of Sharing

About 400 volunteers, partners and donors attended Spring Branch ISD’s 10th annual Celebration of Sharing Appreciation Breakfast held Thursday in the public meeting area near the ice skating rink at 
Memorial City Mall.

The breakfast networking and public program is held each year to honor and acknowledge adults who make 
a difference in the lives of SBISD students every school day.

Highlights of this year’s celebration program included a proclamation from the Texas Legislature honoring the Board of Trustees and selections from the new Stratford Playhouse student musical, Crazy for You.

Superintendent of Schools Duncan Klussmann, Ed.D., spoke about the importance of The Spring Branch Plan 2012-17, which focuses on the district’s goal to double the total number of students by 2017 who 
complete either a technical certificate, two-year degree or four-year degree.

The welcome was delivered by Keith Alexander, who is the chief executive officer of Memorial Hermann Memorial City Medical Center. The medical center, Memorial City Mall and Panera Bread sponsored this year’s celebration.

“At Memorial Hermann, we continue to be proud sponsors with SBISD,” Alexander told those attending. “We know that it takes all of us working together to assure that the youth of our community have the greatest successes today to assure the brightest futures tomorrow. We thank you for sharing this commitment through your involvement with SBISD as well.”

SBISD Community Relations Officer Linda Buchman delivered event greetings after the Spring Branch Navy Jr. ROTC Color Guard presented the colors during the flag ceremony and the Pine Shadows Choir performed several songs. The Guthrie Center Jr. ROTC program is led by retired Lt. Col. Ken Sluis. Pine Shadows choir directors are Nicole Fair and Pablo Ocañas.

Introduced by Community Relations Officer Buchman were SBISD Board of Trustees President Pam Goodson and officers Mike Falick, vice president, and Wayne Schaper Sr., secretary. Also attending were Trustees Katherine Dawson, Chris Gonzalez, Bob Stevenson and Chris Vierra.

Other officials introduced at the celebration include Deanna Harrington, district director for Texas State Rep. Jim Murphy, and Zach Hodges, president of the area Houston Community College.

Also recognized were Rhonda Elmore and Maryellen McGlothlin, both with Memorial Hermann; Harry Hadland and Larry Mullins, both with Memorial City Mall; and Robert Richardson, who is the catering manager with Panera Bread.

Also attending were Spring Branch Education Foundation Executive Director Cece Thompson and Warren Matthews, who serves on the executive committee.

The SBISD Board of Trustees was honored for its support of volunteer and partnership efforts during a presentation by Deanna Harrington with State Rep. Jim Murphy’s office. Trustees were honored for their efforts to support local volunteers and partnerships by resolution of the Texas Legislature.

At the event’s conclusion, Stratford High students won a big ovation from the volunteers after they performed selections from the George and Ira Gershwin musical comedy, Crazy for You. The Stratford Playhouse production is directed by CeCe Prudhomme. Michael Fahey conducts the orchestra. Peter Steinmetz is the music director.



Post a Comment

Do you have feedback? Tell us.