Wednesday, May 22, 2013

Employee Campaign Scholarships

A record 41 graduating seniors were rewarded with Employee Campaign scholarships at the annual Spring Branch Education Foundation Awards Night celebrated May 9 at the Westin Memorial City Hotel.

This year’s group of seniors each received a $1,250 scholarship. Spring Branch ISD employees contribute annually to the Foundation’s Employee Campaign, which funds scholarships for all SBISD graduates who are the children of district employees and apply.

“Every single donated dollar is set aside to fund scholarships for the children of our employees that are graduating from high school,” said Scholarship Awards Chair and Foundation member Warren Matthews.

“Due to the generosity of all the team members across SBISD, we have once again been able to award a sizeable scholarship to every student that applied. In SBISD, we’re proud to once again say ‘We take care of our own!’,” he said.

By 2017, SBISD has set a district goal to double the number of students completing a technical certificate, two-year degree or four-year degree.

In addition to the Employee Campaign honorees, dozens of students received other awards and scholarships. In all, 71 graduating seniors were honored during the evening program.

Employee Campaign Scholarships were presented to district seniors by SBISD Board of Trustees President Pam Goodson, SBEF Chair Mike Rome and SBEF Executive Director Cece Thompson.
SBEF’s Warren Matthews read individual student profiles, which were compiled by the Awards Committee team.

Employee Campaign Scholarship honorees:

Click here to read more information on our 2013 honorees.

Mitchel Barry – Westchester Academy for International Studies
Parker Blome – Spring Woods High School
Martha Caballero – Spring Woods High School
Jasmine Alexa Cano – Stratford High School
Taylor William Cash – Stratford High School
Patrick Christie – Memorial High School
Jacob Cribbs – Stratford High School
Emily Davis – Stratford High School
Elisha Cristopher Diaz – Westchester Academy for International Studies
Kathryn Dickinson – Stratford High School
Adrian Garcia – Northbrook High School
Devan Green – Memorial High School
Mara Justine Heitkamp – Memorial High School
Patrick Janacek – Stratford High School
David Kassir – Westchester Academy for International Studies
Aileen (Allie) Lail – Spring Woods High School
Ryan Lay – Memorial High School
Stacy Lopez – Northbrook High School
Jared Lowrie – Stratford High School
Mackenzie Mayo – Stratford High School
Dua Mazhar – Stratford High School
Brittany McCune – Westchester Academy for International Studies
Robert (Ty) McGowen – Memorial High School
Marvin Mendoza – Westchester Academy for International Studies
Leslie Olivares – Memorial High School
Anna Pendergrass – Memorial High School
Veronica Santos – Spring Woods High School
Ian Sharp – Stratford High School
Daniel Shelton – Spring Woods High School
Kathleen M. Slattery – Memorial High School
Bonnie Slattery – Stratford High School
Soumya Srivastava – Westchester Academy for International Studies
David Tod Stewart II – Memorial High School
Evan Stone – Stratford High School
Jeremy Suarez – Spring Woods High School
Daniel David Tabor – Memorial High School
Kimberly Taylor – Stratford High School
Kaitlin Trahan – Memorial High School
Jessica Watts – Memorial High School
Bradley Whitten – Spring Woods High School


Post a Comment

Do you have feedback? Tell us.