Tuesday, May 13, 2014

Houston Endowment 2014 Jones Scholars named

Twelve Spring Branch ISD students have been named 2014 Jones Scholars by the Houston Endowment and now qualify for annual scholarships during their college years ahead. As Jones Scholars award winners, these high school seniors are eligible to receive up to $16,000 in scholarship funds toward a bachelor’s degree.

Jones Scholars are nominated by their high schools, and a Rotary Club of Houston committee then makes the final student selections based on academic achievement, economic need, leadership skills, community service and personal character.

Houston Endowment is the philanthropic foundation established by Jesse H. and Mary Gibbs Jones to improve the lives of all greater Houston residents through endowment contributions to local charitable groups and educational institutions. Since the Jones Scholars Program began in 1958, Houston Endowment has given almost $97 million to help send more than 11,000 area students to college.

2014 Jones Scholars in Spring Branch ISD

Memorial High School

Runhan Mao
Angel Su
Xinyl Zhang

Northbrook High School

Lauren N. Iozzio
My T. Pham

Spring Woods High School

Nicole D. Jackson
Anjanee R. Munidasa
Maximiliano Rombado

Stratford High School

Hernan A. Cepeda
Joseph B. Kwak
Debra S. Yang

Westchester Academy for International Studies

Paola Gutierrez


Post a Comment

Do you have feedback? Tell us.