Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Field of Dreams

The Mustang Park baseball field at Memorial High School has been chosen as one of only eight Regional Field of the Year winners by the National High School Baseball Coaches Association. In early December, the coaches association will announce its National Field of the Year.

Memorial High Head Baseball Coach Jeremy York said the selection was a “great honor” and “says much about our field.” He thanked SBISD, the high school, the Memorial Booster Club, Mustang parents and players, among others.

He also thanked SBISD Fields and Grounds Supervisor David Hughes and former Lead Grounds Crew Member Daniel Combs for “all the support and work to make our facility one of the best in the nation.” Coach York told the high school Booster Club, “Thanks so much for everyone’s support.”

The Memorial High Booster Club praised Coaches York and Brian Jasek and former Coaches Hardin and Ruse for their many hours of hard work to make Mustang Park a great high school baseball venue.

High school baseball fields named Regional Fields of the Year are: 

• Evans Field, Rockport High School – Rockport, Mass.
• Cabell Midland High School – Ona, W.Va.
• Frank Permuy Field, Gaither High School – Tampa, Fla.
• Hilliard Darby High School – Hilliard, Ohio
• Delano High School – Delano, Minn.
• Mustang Park, Memorial High School – Houston, Texas
• Cottonwood High School – Salt Lake City, Utah
• Sweet Home High School – Sweet Home, Oregon The National Field of the Year Winner will be named Dec. 5 in Nashville, Tenn.


Post a Comment

Do you have feedback? Tell us.